How to Upgrade Your Nextcloud Server

There are three ways to upgrade your Nextcloud server:

  • With the Updater App.
  • Manually upgrading with the Nextcloud .tar archive from our Download page.
  • Manually upgrading is also an option for users on shared hosting; download and unpack the Nextcloud tarball to your PC. Delete your existing Nextcloud files, except data/ and config/ files, on your hosting account. Then transfer the new Nextcloud files to your hosting account, again preserving your existing data/ and config/ files.

When an update is available for your Nextcloud server, you will see a notification at the top of your Nextcloud Web interface. When you click the notification it brings you here, to this page.

It is best to keep your Nextcloud server upgraded regularly, and to install all point releases and major releases without skipping any of them, as skipping releases increases the risk of errors. Major releases are 9, 10, and 11. Point releases are intermediate releases for each major release. For example, 9.0.52 and 10.0.2 are point releases. Skipping major releases is not supported.

Upgrading is disruptive. Your Nextcloud server will be put into maintenance mode, so your users will be locked out until the upgrade is completed. Large installations may take several hours to complete the upgrade.

Warning

Downgrading is not supported and risks corrupting your data! If you want to revert to an older Nextcloud version, make a new, fresh installation and then restore your data from backup. Before doing this, file a support ticket (if you have paid support) or ask for help in the Nextcloud forums to see if your issue can be resolved without downgrading.

Prerequisites

You should always maintain regular backups and make a fresh backup before every upgrade.

Then review third-party apps, if you have any, for compatibility with the new Nextcloud release. Any apps that are not developed by Nextcloud show a 3rd party designation. Install unsupported apps at your own risk. Then, before the upgrade, all 3rd party apps must be disabled. After the upgrade is complete you may re-enable them.

All documentation licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported license.