Managing deleted files
When you delete a file in Nextcloud, it is not immediately deleted permanently. Instead, it is moved into the trash bin. It is not permanently deleted until you manually delete it, or when the Deleted Files app deletes it to make room for new files.
Find your deleted files by clicking on the Deleted files button on the Files page of the Nextcloud Web interface. You’ll have options to either restore or permanently delete files.
Deleted files are not counted against your storage quota. Only your personal files count against your quota, not files which were shared with you. (See Storage quota to learn more about quotas.)
How the deleted files app manages storage space
To ensure that users do not run over their storage quotas, the Deleted Files app allocates a maximum of 50% of their currently available free space to deleted files. If your deleted files exceed this limit, Nextcloud deletes the oldest files (files with the oldest timestamps from when they were deleted) until it meets the memory usage limit again.
Nextcloud checks the age of deleted files every time new files are added to the
deleted files. By default, deleted files stay in the trash bin for 30 days. The
Nextcloud server administrator can adjust this value in the
by setting the
trashbin_retention_obligation value. Files older than the
trashbin_retention_obligation value will be deleted permanently.
Additionally, Nextcloud calculates the maximum available space every time a new
file is added. If the deleted files exceed the new maximum allowed space
Nextcloud will expire old deleted files until the limit is met once again.
Your administrator may have configured the trash bin retention period to override the storage space management. See admin documentation for more details.