Deleted Items (trash bin)
If the trash bin app is enabled (default), this setting defines the policy for when files and folders in the trash bin will be permanently deleted.
The app allows for two settings, a minimum time for trash bin retention, and a maximum time for trash bin retention. Minimum time is the number of days a file will be kept, after which it may be deleted. Maximum time is the number of days at which it is guaranteed to be deleted. Both minimum and maximum times can be set together to explicitly define file and folder deletion. For migration purposes, this setting is installed initially set to “auto”, which is equivalent to the default setting in Nextcloud.
You may alter the default pattern in
config.php. The default setting is
auto, which sets the default pattern:
'trashbin_retention_obligation' => 'auto',
default setting. keeps files and folders in the trash bin for 30 days and automatically deletes anytime after that if space is needed (note: files may not be deleted if space is not needed).
keeps files and folders in the trash bin for D+ days, delete anytime if space needed (note: files may not be deleted if space is not needed)
delete all files in the trash bin that are older than D days automatically, delete other files anytime if space needed
keep files and folders in the trash bin for at least D1 days and delete when exceeds D2 days (note: files will not be deleted automatically if space is needed)
trash bin auto clean disabled, files and folders will be kept forever
To permanently delete files a background jobs runs every 30 minutes. It’s possible to deactivate the background job and setup a (system) cron to expire the versions via occ.
Deactivate background job:
occ config:app:set --value=no files_trashbin background_job_expire_trash
Activate background job:
occ config:app:delete files_trashbin background_job_expire_trash
occ trashbin:expire or
occ trashbin:expire --quiet (without the progress bar)